So many GoComics creators were nominated for The National Cartoonist Society's 71st annual Reuben Awards this year, we knew it was going to be a busy weekend. Still, with five winners across 15 regular categories, we think 2017 may be one of our most fully-stocked years yet.

undefinedCongratulations to Editorial Cartoons winner Michael Luckovich, Newspaper Panels winner (and Reubens host) Nick Galifianakis (Nick and Zuzu), Advertising/Product Illustration winner Luke McGarry (of TLDR fame), Online Comics - Short Form winner Ruben Bolling, and Book Illustration winner Dave Whamond (of Reality Check) for wins in their respective categories.

And the (full list of) NCS Division Award winners are...


Feature Animation

Cory Loftis, Disney’s Zootopia


TV Animation

Chris Savino, Nickelodeon’s The Loud House


Editorial Cartoons

Mike Luckovich


Newspaper Comic Strip

Steve Kelley and Jeff Parker, Dustin


Newspaper Panel Feature

Nick Galifianakis, Nick & Zuzu


Newspaper Illustration

David Rowe


Magazine Illustration

Jon Adams.


Gag Cartoons

Will McPhail


Comic Book

Max Sarin and Liz Fleming, Giant Days


Graphic Novel

Rick Geary, Black Dahlia


Online Comics - Short Form

Ruben Bolling, Donald & John


Online Comic - Long Form

Ngozi Ukazu, OMG Check Please


Greeting Cards

Debbie Tomasi


Advertising Illustration

Luke McGarry


Book Illustration

Dave Whamond


In addition to these Division Awards, The Washington Post's Ann Telnaes was awarded the Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year. Lynda Barry (Ernie Pook's Comeek) took home the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award for her career in cartooning, illustration and other creative fields. Ruby Xia, an animation major at the Sheridan College in Ontario, Canada, was recognized for her work in animated shorts with the $5,000 Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship.

Congratulations to all of the nominees, winners and particularly regular GC's John Glynn for being in attendance to congratulate (we presume with high-fives) attendees in-person.